The 3 Types of Minor Scales in Music

The 3 Types of Minor Scales in Music

In the theory of music, the essential scales for musicians to learn are diatonic (major) scales. However you’re most likely more acquainted with the expressions “major” and “minor,” a diatonic scale is made up of seven notes. These pitches/notes incorporate 5 whole steps and 2 half steps.

W = Whole while Step H = Half Step

In this tutorial, we will zero in for the minor scale. Presented above is the natural minor scale, however there are really three kinds of minor scales which are generally found in music.

Natural Minor Scale

Harmonic Minor Scale

Melodic Minor Scale

The Natural minor scale is the normal diatonic scale with no modified scale degrees or added accidentals. Keep in mind, in case you’re checking out a major scale, lower scale degrees 3, 6, and 7 to get the minor scale.

The harmonic minor scale is almost the same when compared with the natural scale even though the 7th degree is raised.

The melodic minor scale raises scale degrees of 6 and 7 from the normal minor scope when rising, however brings them down to their regular minor state while sliding. One thing to note about the melodic scale is that frequently, particularly in jazz music, performers will not bring down the scale degrees while plummeting. All things being equal, they partake in the exceptional sound of the raised 6th and 7th degrees.

We trust you’re presently feeling somewhat more OK with your minor scopes. You can begin joining them into your warm up by playing or singing through each, going up a half-step, and rehashing the interaction for an octave or two! When you’re recognizable, you’ll see these scales springing up all around your printed music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.